ARLINGTON, Va. — The American Feed Industry Association (AFIA) elected new leadership at its annual spring meeting May 14 in Orlando, Florida, including a new chair and several board and executive committee members.

Tim Belstra was appointed chairman of AFIA through April 30, 2020. Belstra will be succeeded by Scott Druker in May 2020, who was selected as chair-elect at the meeting.

Scott Druker of Church & Dwight Company, Inc. was elected AFIA board chair-elect for 2020-2021.
Belstra currently serves as board chairman of Belstra Milling Co., and Druker is the general manager of Church & Dwight Company, Inc.’s animal nutrition division.

Bruce Crutcher, board chairman throughout the 2018-2019 fiscal year, was recognized for his leadership during the meeting and will now serve as chairman of the Institute for Feed Education and Research (IFEEDER) for one year.

“Bruce has provided exceptional leadership over this past year as chairman from building consensus to thinking outside of the box to push the association forward in new ways, but always with his eyes on the goal,” said AFIA President and CEO Joel G. Newman. “He played a pivotal role in leading the selection committee search for my successor as CEO, and I commend him for his diligence in seeking and listening to the input of our membership in the process.”

Crutcher is the managing director of Micronutrients USA, LLC.

AFIA added 16 other board members, who will serve three-year terms. They include Jeff Ast of Lallemand Animal Nutrition; Mike Gauss of Kent Nutrition Group, Inc.; Carlos Gonzalez, Ph.D., of Hill’s Pet Nutrition; Alan Gunderson of Vita Plus Corporation; Kevin Halpin, Ph.D., of International Ingredient Corporation; Camissa Hummel of ADM Animal Nutrition, Inc; Steve Lerner of Chr. Hansen Animal Health and Nutrition; Andrew Loder of Wilbur-Ellis Nutrition LLC; Joe Lucas of CJ America, Inc.; Eric McMillan of Cactus Feeders; Landis Shoemaker of Sunnyside Feeds LLC; Michael Skuodas of POET Nutrition; Dean Warras of Phibro Animal Health Corporation; Glen Wilkinson of Huvepharma, Inc.; Jonathan Wheat of 4B Components, Ltd.; and Mindy Whittle of Bayer U.S. – Crop Science.

Seven people were nominated to AFIA’s Executive Committee, including Mitch Anderson of PerforMix Nutritional Systems, LLC; Kevin Baker of Valley Proteins, Inc.; Holly Bellmund of GLC Minerals, LLC; Scott Druker of Church & Dwight Company, Inc.; Sherman Miller of Cal-Maine Foods, Inc.; Lisa Norton of BioZyme Incorporated; and Jason Vickers of Mars Petcare US.

Additionally, nine individuals were appointed to IFEEDER’s Board of Trustees. They are Cathy Bandyk, Ph.D., of AB Vista, Inc.; Tim Belstra of Belstra Milling Co.; Mike Goble of Diamond V; Marc de Beer of Elanco Animal Health; Ed Galo of Novus International, Inc.; Mark Lueking of Cargill Animal Nutrition; C. Ross Hamilton, Ph.D., of Darling Ingredients Inc.; A. Wayne Rod of The F.L. Emmert Company; and Chad Risley, Ph.D., of Berg+Schmidt America, LLC.

Read more news from associations and agencies in the pet food space.